Marsetti

When I first revealed my meal plan for the week, this was the one dish that had you flooding my inbox with DMs. So here it is in all its glory. I hope you enjoy it as much as our family does.

This truly is the most simple of mid week family dinners, no fancy ingredients but it’s oh so tasty.

So to make it you will need:

  • 1lb mince
  • 2 onions finely diced
  • Tin of Campbell’s Condensed Mushroom Soup
  • Tin of Campbell’s Condensed Tomato Soup
  • 400g uncooked pasta
    100g grated cheese

Firstly put a large pot of water on to boil for the pasta and cook according to the pack instructions.

In a separate pan brown off the mince with the onion. Personally I use my cast iron Le Creuset because it can go straight into the oven later which saves on the washing up.

When the pasta and mince are both cooked, drain the pasta and add to the browned off mince and mix well. Then add the two tins of soup and mix to combine.

The Marsetti is now ready to be covered with cheese and popped in the oven at Gas Mark 4 for about 30/40 minutes until the cheese has melted and it’s golden and bubbly.

I like to serve this with a green salad and come fresh crusty bread, my husband likes it with a side order of chips 🙈.

I have costed this recipe and it works out at 68p per portion (this recipe will provide 6 portions) based on my calculations.

My local butcher regularly offers 2lbs of mince for £4 so I tend to buy and pop them in the freezer for when I need them. The tins of soup I bought in B&M bargains for 49p each, the pasta costs 40p for the whole dish, I buy 3kg bags in Sainsbury’s for £3 obviously smaller bags work out more expensive, the onions cost 20p again I buy in bulk and the cheese is £2 for a 400g block from Sainsbury’s so that equates to 40p for the 100g used in this recipe.

I hope that you enjoy this and if you decide to try it I would love if you could share with the hashtag #mealplanwithlaura

Laura xx

Leave a comment